Westwood retains title

Monday, 5 December 2011
Lee Westwood
Lee Westwood

Englishman Lee Westwood won the Nedbank Golf Challenge in South Africa for the second year in succession on Sunday.

Westwood retained his 2010 crown after finishing two shots ahead of Sweden's Robert Karlsson in the 12-man event.

With a whopping seven-shot lead heading into the final day's play, it was only a collapse of drastic proportions that would stop the world number three from claiming the title at Sun City.

And after a series of pars to begin his round, birdies on holes six and nine meant that despite Karlsson's strong start, the title was all Westwood's.

He did ease up on the back nine, hitting three bogeys but it mattered little as the Brit finished with a 72 and became the sixth player to win the tournament in successive years.

Karlsson's effort to get within two shots was impressive, as he fired seven birdies in his round of 68.

Unfortunately for the Swede, he also hit three bogeys which robbed him of any chance he had to make a dramatic charge for the title in the final stages.

American Jason Dufner and Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell tied for third, four shots behind Westwood.

Dufner finished with a three-under 69 that included five birdies and an eagle in an erratic round while McDowell shot a 70 after two late blemishes.

Korean KT Kim also finished with a 70 to end up in outright fifth at eight-under while South African Charl Schwartzel (six-under), Englishman Luke Donald (five-under) and German Martin Kaymer (four-under) were all back in the field.

Donald's compatriot Simon Dyson ended an amazing 14 shots behind Westwood, while Denmark's Anders Hansen was a further shot back.

Italian Francesco Molinari (seven-over) and Northern Ireland's Darren Clarke (nine-over) had tournaments they would like to forget, with the latter shooting a six-over 78 on the final day.